How To Recover From A Bad Semester (Or Year)

This blog post is about the things I did to overcome a disappointing season in my life.

Hey guys! So today I want to talk about something that I’ve gone through recently. Everyone goes through seasons in their life-  some good, some bad. Sometimes these seasons last a month, sometimes they last years. Most recently, I went through a bad season for the majority of my semester. I was faced with several disappointments and struggles, and I allowed my whole attitude and outlook to become negative as a result. So below I’m going to list the things I did that helped me to recover and overcome that bad season in my life. How to recover from a bad semseter

  • Disconnect

The first thing I did was take a break from all the stresses in my life. Luckily, being a college student, we have built in breaks! So I had a whole month at my parents’ house where I didn’t have to think about anything that was stressing me out. But even if you only have a day or a few hours take advantage of it! Also, consider taking a break from social media as well. I didn’t completely eliminate social media over break (I’m addicted to Pinterest..) but I definitely wasn’t on it as much as I had been, and I think that really helped me to disconnect.

  • Revisit some passions

During your break, do something for you that makes you happy- running, baking, painting, reading. In all the busyness of life, sometimes we can’t find time to do the things that used to make us so happy. So over break I decided to read a few books, I love the feeling that a book gives you and allows you to escape to this whole new world.  I encourage you to use some of your break time to revisit something you love!

  • Let God heal you

I knew at the end of the semester that I needed God’s help in overcoming those disappointments and that He had the answers I was searching for, yet for some reason I didn’t know where to start. Until, one day at the beginning of break I was scrolling through Pinterest (as usual haha) and came across a blog post listing scriptures for overcoming disappointments! (I’ll add a link in a moment) And I just thought, Wow this is literally exactly what I need right now! It wasn’t until I prayed and meditated on those verses that I truly felt like I had let go of everything. So definitely check out the link to Tara’s blog post below!

13 Bible Verses to Overcome Disappointment

  • Refocus

After I let God heal my heart and finally let go of all the baggage I was still holding on to, I knew I had to switch my focus and my goals. Goals are so incredibly important in life, because without them we have nothing to aspire and grow to. This is a really good time to reexamine where your life is headed and where you want to be in 5 or 10 years. When I did this, I realized that I had been putting my effort into the wrong things, so I decided to start investing time into areas of my life that I knew would help get me further to where I wanted to go. That’s not to say that what you are doing now is not good or beneficial, but it may not be as effective in reaching your goals. The things I had been focusing on weren’t bad, but I wasn’t growing by focusing on them. If you’re not sure where to start to refocus the goals for your life, then ask God to guide you. He can help you find your way back onto the path that He created for you. We’ll always be our happiest when we’re using the gifts that God has given us.

  • Don’t Give Up

My final thought is to not give up on the things that have disappointed you. Whether it be a job, a relationship, or even your major, quitting may not be the answer. I started focusing on the aspects I loved and what I learned from the experience, instead of how it had upset me. So for example, if you had a really bad class that’s making you reconsider your major, take a minute to remember what you love about your major choice and future career or if you would be happier doing something different. Of course, everyone’s situation and what they are going through is different. And if you decide to leave the situation or were forced to, then don’t give up hope in yourself and your future. Like I mentioned earlier, God has a path for all of us and wants us to help us succeed if we come to Him, like it says in Jeremiah:

Jeremiah 29:11-13 (NIV)

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

I hope all of these things will help you in whatever you may be going through, and feel free to comment below and tell me about how you’ve overcome a tough situation in your life!

One thought on “How To Recover From A Bad Semester (Or Year)

Leave a Reply

