God Is Bigger Than Your Fears

With the recent political events, many Americans have expressed complete fear for the future. Some have expressed anger, yet anger is also rooted in fear.

It troubles me to see millions of Americans living in fear and letting it rule their life and decide what they choose to do with it.

But we as Christians do not have to live in fear. It tells us 365 times in the Bible “Do not fear!” Yet we still do. Fear is not just an emotion, it is a mental battle that is raging on in this country.

So what will you do about it?

biggerthanfears-01
Photo credit: Caleb Frith via unsplash.com
Throughout the entire election, I made it a point to stay educated. I understood the concerns on both sides. I empathized with those who saw each candidate’s flaws. But I had a constant peace. Neither of the candidates were great options, but I knew whichever side won, I would still have peace.

Why?

Because my hope is 100% completely in God. And I knew that no matter what was going on in the world, that God will always be on the throne. He will always love me. He will always protect me. And he will always make sure that my needs are met.

Romans 8:38-39 (NLT)

38 And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. 39 No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.

The problem is not the democrats and republicans, politicians in Washington or problems in the Middle East. The problem is that Americans lost hope in God’s promises. They are putting their faith in a man/woman and expecting him/her to save them.

Romans 10:9 (NLT)

If you openly declare that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.

Proverbs 1:33 (NLT)

33 But all who listen to me will live in peace, untroubled by fear of harm.”

The reality is that only God can save the broken hearted. When we leave all of our concerns, worries and anxieties at his feet, He takes them and gives us His indescribable peace. The world may be in ruins and everyone around you may be frantic, but not you. You will have a peace that no one will understand or comprehend.

Psalm 34:18 (NLT)

18 The Lord is close to the brokenhearted; he rescues those whose spirits are crushed.

Matthew 11:28-29 (NLT)

28 Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls.

Remaining at peace and refusing to live in fear is a constant mental battle. One that can only be won by filling our minds and hearts with God’s word and His promises to us.

2 Peter 1:4 (NLT)

And because of his glory and excellence, he has given us great and precious promises. These are the promises that enable you to share his divine nature and escape the world’s corruption caused by human desires.

Throughout this post I have given you all many scriptures to refer back to, and I wanted to end by sharing one of my favorite songs right now. It perfectly captures the feeling of being at peace when war rages around you.

Leave a Reply

